Ireland Republic vs Gibraltar (2-0)

The Republic of Eire maintained their unvanquished begin to monetary unit 2020 qualifying with a problematic 2-0 convert Calpe at the Aviva arena on a weekday.

Mick McCarthy took off his second stint answerable of fire with a slender 1-0 win within the reverse fixture at the top of March however hopes of a considerably a lot of routine finish on home turf did not occur.

They were indebted to associate degree goal from Joseph Chipolina shortly before the unit of time mark, with Robbie Brady scoring injury-time gloss to the scoreline.

Ireland started sluggishly and was reduced to efforts from a distance before Chipolina’s unfortunate intervention once twenty-nine minutes handed the hosts the lead.

David McGoldrick scuffed Seamus Coleman’s low difficulty towards a goal, with the Calpe defender unknowingly deflecting the ball past a helpless Kyle Goldwin.

The spirited Callum Robinson came near adding a second on the stroke of half-time however his whipped effort from outside the penalty is arched naturally wide of Goldwin’s right-hand post.

Another low ball from Coleman caused chaos within the Calpe box once fifty-eight minutes; however, McGoldrick was unable to direct his effort past Goldwin.

Gibraltar’s goalkeeper is then unbroken out Scott Hogan’s hard drive from a right angle before McGoldrick whipped a right-footed shot against the post from eighteen yards twenty minutes from time.

The hosts value-added a scarcely due second in stoppage time, Brady stealing in at the near post to go in James McClean’s cross as McCarthy’s facet maintained their unvanquished run in extraordinarily underwhelming fashion.

Other Match: Ireland Republic Vs Georgia (1-0)


29′ Ireland Republic J. Chipolina (o.g.)
90+3′ Ireland Republic R. Brady

Ireland Republic Lineups

23 Darren Randolph
2 Séamus Coleman
4 Shane Duffy
5 Richard Keogh
3 Enda Stevens
12 Callum Robinson
13 Jeff Hendrick
14 Conor Hourihane
11 James McClean
9 David McGoldrick
17 Scott Hogan


Gibraltar Lineups

1 Kyle Goldwin
4 Jack Sergeant
14 Roy Alan Chipolina
3 Joseph Chipolina
12 Jayce Mascarenhas-Olivero
7 Lee Casciaro
17 Andrew Hernandez
10 Liam Walker
6 Louie Annesley
11 Alain Pons
19 Tjay De Barr


Ireland Republic – Gibraltar Match Statistics

Ireland Republic


31 Shots Total 2
7 Shots on goal 1
16 Shots off goal 1
8 Shots blocked 0
18 Shots inside box 0
13 Shots outside box 2
13 Fouls 4
14 Corners 1
5 Offsides 0
1 Saves 6
75% Possession Time 25%
638 Passes Total 221
552 Accurate Passes 129
87% Accurate Passes% 58%
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More